Hakeemo waare wechtam

The name of the poet is mentioned in the poem as Ahmed (pen-name). I am not sure who exactly it is. If you know, please let me know in the comments. Errors and omissions regretted.


Hakeemo waare wechtam, doad nai dagg kamich Cham? ~

Dawa dimm kyah gasi kam, doad nai dagg kamich Cham?

 

O’ healer, treat me properly, why this pain if I have no malady?

Prescribe something to me, as may like thee, why this pain if I have no malady?

 

Tse yikhna soan saal’ai, karai zuv jaan hawaalai ~

Bara’y Gaye zulf-e-kham, doad nai dagg kamich Cham?

 

Won’t you attend my function where I’ll handover my life to you?

My tresses have lost their knots, why this pain if I have no malady?

 

Be dimiha chaak jaam’an, be khotchaan lukk’e paam’an ~

Sanyomut chum yuhai gham, doad nai dagg kamich Cham?

 

I’d tear my robe apart had I no fear of being slandered

This melancholia is eating me up, why this pain if I have no malady?

 

Mye gaerr jaame zareenik, andir gamit mye Chem ael ~

Banyam kar aab-e-zam zam, doad nai dagg kamich Cham?

 

I wear robes of glittering gold, though inside I’m rotten old

When will I receive my share of Zamm Zamm, why this pain if I have no malady?

 

Syetha Chem aash Chaenei, wandai gaash daael daali ~

Yitamo roi haavtam, doad nai dagg kamich Cham?

 

I’m pinning a lot of hopes on you, may you always bath in gilding light

Please come, show me thy illuminating face, why this pain if I have no malady?

2 thoughts on “Hakeemo waare wechtam

Leave a Reply

