Haa jaani’azeezo 

This poem has been composed by Waaze Mahmoud. And in this poem, the basic theme revolves around the vagaries of life and how dear we hold our life. Following is my interpretation and understanding of the poem. Do correct me where I’m wrong. Errors and omissions regretted.

 Haa jaani’azeezo, wala goor karayo~

Matt’e laal jaraeyo, wala goor karayo

O’ dear self, let me sing you a lullaby.
Let me adorn you with pearls, let me sing you a lullaby



Panen’yav te parayav, dost’av te rafeeq’av
Banne’nas te gyool hamo, wala goor karayo

Knowns and unknowns, friends and dearest of them

All mocked at my misery, let me sing you a lullaby



Tharr’i hind gulabo, kath waari pholhamo
Meshq chaanay balayo, wala goor karayo

Rose of my garden, where did you bloom? ~
My elixir is your fragrance only, let me sing you a lullaby.



Daryav ye aeshq’un aab, saer paeth mye gov saelaab ~

Kamm’e taar’e taraeyo, wala goor karayo

This River of thy love, drowned me in its flood.

I don’t know any passage for crossing, Let me sing you a lullaby


Leave a Reply

